Honors & Awards

Faculty Honors & Awards

Faculty Research Lecturer Award

The Faculty Research Lectureship is awarded annually to the faculty member determined to be the most distinguished for research or other creative achievement. Candidates are nominated by their peers, and the final selection is made by an Academic Senate committee consisting of the previous 5 Faculty Research Lecturers. This award is considered to be the highest honor the UCSB faculty can bestow on one of its members.

2014-15 Award Recipient
Linda Putnam, Professor of Communication

Plous Award

The Plous Award was established to honor Harold J. Plous, an Assistant Professor in UCSB's Department of Economics until his untimely death in 1957. The award is presented annually to an Assistant Professor from the humanities, social sciences or natural sciences. Selection is based on outstanding performance and promise as measured by creative action and contribution to the intellectual life of the college community.

2011-12 Award Recipient 
Victor Rios, Professor of Sociology

Distinguished Teaching Award

The Distinguished Teaching Award acknowledges the efforts of Senate faculty members who have successfully united teaching and research. Non-Senate faculty are judged on their excellence in teaching and their contributions to the teaching mission of the University.

2013-14 Award Recipients
Andrew Flanagin, Professor of Communication
Gaye Theresa Johnson, Professor of Black Studies
Amber VanDerwarker, Professor of Anthropology

Outstanding Graduate Mentor Award

Mentoring graduate students is a vital component of our mission as a research university; it includes training graduate students for careers in research and teaching and preparing them to meet the highest professional and ethical standards as scholars and educators. The Outstanding Graduate Mentor Award will recognize the contributions of faculty whose mentoring is considered exemplary.

2012-13 Award Recipient
Verta Taylor, Professor of Sociology


Recent Faculty Honors & Awards

June 8, 2011
Victor Rios
February 8, 2011
Linda L. Putnam
January 11, 2011
Richard P. Appelbaum and Bruce Bimber
December 18, 2008
Tamara Afifi, Howard Giles, Linda Putnam, Ronald Rice, and David Seibold
October 16, 2007
Charles Kolstad, Stephen J. DeCanio, and Nicholas Burger