News & Announcements

The American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) — the world’s largest general scientific society and publisher of numerous prestigious journals, including Science — has named six UC Santa Barbara professors among its new fellows for 2017, including one from the Division of Social Sciences.

For publishing what has been described as the first comprehensive study of racial and ethnic minorities holding elective office in America at the beginning of the 21st century, UCSB professor of political scientists Pei-te Lien and co-authors have received the 2017 Distinguished Career Book Award from the American Political Science Association’s Race, Ethnicity and Politics section.

Joseph Walther, who pioneered the study of computer-mediated communication and its implications for intrapersonal relationships, has been named the inaugural Bertelsen Presidential Chair in Information Technology and Society at UC Santa Barbara. He will also be the director of UCSB’s Center for Information Technology (CITS).